Kauri Seed Programme


The Kauri Seed Programme is not being offered in 2022, as the Kauri Fund is currently being used to support postgraduate student travel grants to attend the 2022 NZES conference.

The Kauri Seed Programme has been established to mentor and encourage undergraduate ecologists in the early stages of their ecological careers so they will become involved in the study and application of ecological science in New Zealand. The programme was established in 2010 as the first initiative of the Kauri Fund

Kauri Seed Programme Scholarships will be granted each year to undergraduate ecologists to enable them to attend the New Zealand Ecological Society’s conference and student day. During the conference students will be allocated post-graduate student mentors who will help them get the most out of the conference. Students will not be required to present a paper or poster. 

Eligibility and conditions

Applicants must be enrolled as undergraduates at a New Zealand tertiary institute and be studying ecological science or a related degree within New Zealand.

Scholarship applicants shall be nominated by their tertiary institution. While in the past the NZES has been able to devolve selection of these students to faculty at each tertiary education institute, we now have more applications than we can fund. Hence, we have had to make these awards competitive across the entire applicant pool. The scholarship is to provide assistance (to a maximum of $700) towards a student’s conference registration, travel and accommodation for the duration of the society’s conference, but is unable to cover costs in its entirety. The number of scholarships awarded each year may vary.

The scholarships will be awarded by the Trustees of the Kauri Fund. If no nominations of sufficient merit are received, the committee may refrain from awarding scholarships. Applicants may receive a Kauri Seed scholarship only once.

Applications must include the student’s name, their degree, and a paragraph that they have written explaining how they would benefit from attending the conference and also providing their career aspirations in ecology. Applications must also include a reference from one of their faculty outlining their academic potential (e.g. GPA), any relevant experience (e.g. assistance in research or practical conservation work) in ecology or conservation, any relevant awards and how they will benefit from attending the conference.

The Kauri Seed Programme is currently not being offered.


Auckland University

Bruce Burns/Jacqueline Beggs


Mel Galbraith


Dave Towns/Sebastian Leuzinger

Northland Polytec

Olivier Ball

Waikato University

Daniel Laughlin/Mike Clearwater

Bay of Plenty Polytechnic

Debashis Dutta

Massey University

Alastair Robertson


KC Burns

Lincoln University

Jon Sullivan/Tim Curran

Canterbury University

Dave Kelly, Olivia Burge

Otago University

Kath Dickinson

Open Polytechnic


Southland Institute of Technology

Erine van Niekerk