Best Student Conference Paper

Outstanding Student Presentations

The society makes an annual award to the students who are judged to have presented the best oral papers at the Society’s annual conference. The award comprises:

• One year’s free membership of the society
• A prize of NZ$150

Note: this award does not consider papers presented at the student session of the conference or papers presented by individuals who have been graduates for more than twelve months.



Past Recipients: Best Student Conference Paper

2020 No conference held.

Best student presentation: Aaron Bertoia, Unversity of Otago
Honourable mention: Erana Walker, University of Waikato
Honourable mention: Levi Collier-Robinson, University of Canterbury
Honourable mention: Olivia Rooke-Devoy, University of Auckland

2018 Best talk and Best zoology talk: Jo Carpenter, University of Canterbury
Very highly commended: Justyna Giejsztowt, Victoria University of Wellington
Very highly commended: André Bellvé, University of Auckland
Highly commended: Michelle Marraffini, University of Canterbury
Highly commended: Julius Juodakis, Victoria University of Wellington
2016 Ellen Irwin, Victoria University
Josie Galbraith, University of Auckland
Timothy Staples, University of Queensland
Eduardo Burmeister, University of Canterbury
Bridgette Farnsworth, University of Waikato
2015 Olivia Burge, University of Canterbury
Asher Cook, Victoria University of Wellington
Ellen Irwin, Victoria University of Wellington
Junichi Sugishita, University of Otago
Amanda Taylor, Victoria University of Wellington
2014 Amanda Taylor, Victoria University of Wellington
Second: Kirsty Yule, Victoria University of Wellington
Highly commended: Matt Krna, Massey University


Freya Thomas, University of Melbourne
Second: Sichong Chen, University of New South Wales
Highly commended: Nixie Boddy, University of Canterbury
Conservation Biology Society Award: Patrick Garvey, University of Auckland
2012 Belinda Whyte, Lincoln University
Highly commended: Christine Sheppard, University of Auckland
2011 Catherine Bryan, University of Waikato
Highly commended: Fiona Clarkson, University of Waikato
2010 Josie Galbraith, University of Auckland
Highly commended: Helen Nathan, University of Auckland
2008 Ben Barr, Massey University, Auckland
Second place: Dylan Van Winkel Massey University, Auckland
2007 Susan Cunningham, Massey University
2005 Michelle Greenwood, University of Canterbury
2004 Priscilla McAllum, University of Waikato
2003 Harshi Gamage, Victoria University
2002 Yanbin Deng, University of Auckland
2001 Yanbin Deng, University of Auckland
Angela Moles, Macquarie University, Australia
2000 Wade Tozer, Waikato University
1999 Deborah Wilson, University of British Colombia, Canada
Souzi McGill, Lincoln University, Canterbury
1998 Alison Evans Lincoln University, Canterbury
Nick Bond, University of Melbourne, Australia
Paula Peters, Monash University, Australia
1997 Lynette Hartley, Waikato University, Hamilton
1996 Shona Lamoureaux, University of Canterbury
1995 Eric Edwards Otago University, Dunedin
David Forsyth Lincoln University, Canterbury
1993-94 Not presented
1992 Janet Wilmshurst, University of Canterbury
1991 Mel van Aalst, Auckland University
Fran Hyland, Victoria University, Wellington
Chris Lusk, Auckland University
1990 Liz Slooten, University of Canterbury
Stephen Dawson, University of Canterbury