Best Student Conference Poster

Outstanding Student Poster - NZES conference 

The society makes an annual award to the students who are judged to have presented the best poster at the Society’s annual conference. The award comprises:

• One year’s free membership of the society
• A prize of NZ$100

Note: posters presented by individuals who have been graduates for more than twelve months are not eligible for the award. 


Past Recipients: Best Student Conference Poster

2020 No conference held.
2019 Best poster: Isabelle Barrett, University of Canterbury
Honourable mention: Nicholas Foster, University of Otago
2018 Best poster: Roald Bomans, Victoria University of Wellington
Highly commended: Mari Nakano, Massey University
Highly commended: Miki Nomura, University of Otago
2016 Akane Tsujita, Kyoto University
Craig Simpkins, University of Auckland
2015 Marine Aubert, University of Canterbury
Kiri Cutting, University of Waikato
2014 Ian Geary, Lincoln University
Second place: Asher Cook, Victoria University of Wellington
2013 Paul Battersby, University of Auckland
Second place: Jennifer Dent, Lincoln University
Highly commended: James Brock, University of Auckland
2012 Sharada Paudel, Victoria University
2011 Marie Brown, University of Waikato and
Joshua Thoresen, Massey University
2010 Harriet Thomas, University of Otago
Highly commended: James McCarthy, University of Canterbury
2008 Amy Whitehead, University of Canterbury
2007 Haylie Newbold, University of Waikato
2005 Rebecca Eivers, University of Canterbury
2004 Harshi Gamage, Victoria University
2003 Jenny Lux, University of Auckland
2001 Paul Leisnham, University of Otago
2000 Ben Reddiex, Lincoln University
1997 James Ross, Lincoln University, Canterbury