Award for Communication in Ecology

Canterbury Branch of the Royal Society of New Zealand Award for Communication in Ecology

The RSNZ Canterbury Branch offers an award to celebrate individuals that have shown excellence in communicating the science of ecology.  The awardee will have demonstrated an outstanding ability to communicate their research, either through mainstream media, by producing popular articles and/or presenting their work to non-scientific audiences and will preferably be a member of the Ecological Society (but in the absence of a worthy recipient, the award can be presented to non-members).  The RSNZ (Canterbury) request that the recipient, on accepting the award, be willing to present their research either at the next Ecological Society Conference (after presentation of the award) or be willing to present their research as part of the RSNZ - Canterbury Branch lecture series at some time in the future.

The RSNZ awards recipients a $500 prize.

Nominations must include a detailed statement of support summarising the nominee’s contribution to excellence in the communication of ecological science.  This award was offered for the first time in 2015. If this award is offered in future years a call for nominations will be posted here.


The RSNZ Canterbury Branch was formed as the Philosophical Society of Canterbury in 1862. The Canterbury Branch is a regional constituent organisation of the Royal Society of New Zealand; however, we are also an incorporated society governed by our own constitution. The Object of the Society is to advance and promote science, technology and the humanities in New Zealand by the encouragement of scientific investigation.  Our primary activity is a regular monthly lecture programme from local and international speakers. We offer grants to students to attend local and international conferences. We appoint representatives with a scientific background to several local boards. For more information please see:


Past recipients: Communication in Ecology Award

This award was first offered in 2015.

2015. Wayne Linklater, Victoria University of Wellington